Skip to content

Delivery of safe School Zone initiative in #DublinCentral

One of the important steps taken by Dublin City Council since the beginning of the pandemic, was to introduce measures to enhance and improve mobility and accessibility across the city. As part of that, steps were taken to introduce new safe School Zones to encourage vehicles to slow down, discourage drop off and pick up to reduce congestion and increase safety at school gates.

Across Dublin Central, there are 31 national schools that have been written to by the Engineering and Transportation Department of Dublin City Council inviting them to take part in the scheme, of which all have applied to become a school zone. These schools include:

No.School nameSchool address
1St Vincent’s Infant Boys SchoolNorth William street Dublin 1 D01AV50
2St Patrick’s BNSMillbourne Avenue
3ST. Catherine’s Senior SchoolRatoath road, Cabra West, Dublin 7 D07 V045
4Dublin 7 Educate TogetherFitzwilliam Place North, Grangegorman Lower, Dublin 7D07PY50
5Christ the King Junior GNSAnnaly Road, Cabra, D7.
6Gardiner St School76 Upper Gardiner Street, D.1
7Casa Caterina SchoolDominican Campus, Ratoath Road, Cabra, Dublin 7, D07 YY30
8Gaelscoil Choláiste Mhuire4 Parnell Square East, Dublin 1, D01 WC99
9St. Columba’s NSIona Road, Glasnevin, Dublin 9    D09T9X0
10Lindsay Road National SchoolLindsay Road, Glasnevin, Dublin 9, D09YH93
11St Vincent’s Girls SchoolNorth William St Dublin 1
12St John Bosco’s SBS (Roll no 17912O)Navan Road, Dublin 7
13Mary Help of Christians GNSNavan Road, Dublin 7, D07 EH68
14St Mary’s Primary SchoolSt Mary’s Place, Upper Dorset Street, Dublin 7 D07 HF10
15George’s Hill PPSHalston Street , Dublin 7 YS43
16Broombridge ETNSBannow Road, Cabra, Dublin 7 D07TD93
17St. Peter’s N.S.St. Peter’s Road, Phibsboro, Dublin 7 (D07F75C)
18Christ the King BNSAnnaly Road, Cabra, Dublin 7 D07EF63
19Holy Child NSLarkhill Road, Whitehall, Dublin 9 D09K104
20Holy Child Boys NSLarkhill Road, Whitehall, Dublin 9 D09K104
21Scoil MobhíBóthar Mobhí, Glasnaíon, BÁC 9 D09A303
22St. Paul’s Primary SchoolNorth Brunswick Street, Dublin 7
23Rutland National SchoolRutland National School, Lower Gloucester Place, Dublin 1
24Mother of Divine Grace SchoolFerndale Avenue, Ballygall, Dublin 11 (D11VW68)
25Stanhope Street Primary SchoolManor Street Dublin 7 D07DY60
26St Vincent’sSt Vincent’s primary school, St. Philomena’s road, Glasnevin, Dublin 11.
27Grace Park ETNSDCU All Hallows Campus, Grace Park road, Drumcondra, Dublin 9. D09 KDW4
28Gaelscoil BharraFassaugh Ave, Cabra, Dublin 7
29Glasnevin Educate Together National SchoolGriffith Avenue Glasnevin D11 A2YT
30O Connell PrimaryNorth Richmond St, Dublin 1
31Central Model SchoolDeverell Place, Dublin 1

9 School Zones have been installed to date, including:

  • Central Model School, Deverell Place, Dublin 1.
  • St Vincent’s Infant Boys School, William Street North
  • St Patricks Boys NS, Millbourne Avenue, Drumcondra, Dublin 9.
  • Christ The King GNS, Annaly Road, Cabra, Dublin 7.
  • Christ The King BNS, Annaly Road, Cabra, Dublin 7.
  • Gaelscoil Bharra, Faussagh Avenue, Cabra West, Dublin 7.
  • St Vincent’s GNS, Williams Street North, Dublin 1.
  • St Mary’s Primary School, Paradise Place Phibsborough, Dublin 7.
  • St Peters National School, Phibsborough, Dublin 7.

School communities have been in touch with me seeking clarity as to the process upon which a safe School Zone is delivered. I have simplified the process below so if your children’s school has applied to take part, you can establish the steps that have been undertaken and remain in order for the school zone to be installed.

So the steps to be completed, include:

  • The School Principal is encouraged to carry out consultations within the local community and to work collaboratively with the school and local community to gain the best possible outcome from the School Zone installation. This process is supported by the Schools Outreach Officers and in some cases An Taisce’s Green-School Programme Officers. 
  • Site observation visits from Technical staff and School Mobility Officers are conducted for all schools who have applied. This is followed by a final design and funding approval process by the NTA in consultation with Dublin City Council.
  • The final design is sent to the school Principal so that they can inform the school community and local community of the design and the planned installation of the school zone.

Once the school has accepted the final design, the School Zone is installed, and its success is evaluated over time.

If you have any questions about the safe School Zone process, whether your kids’ school has applied or what it has to do in order to advance an application, please get in touch with me at

raymcadam View All

Fine Gael Councillor - North Inner City

Chair, Urban Form & Planning Strategic Policy Committee

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: